qiuck linksQuick Links

Police FAQ


Is the Howell Police Department my police department?
When should I call 9-1-1?
How do I request a Police Officer?
How do I get to the Police Department?

How do I obtain a copy of a police report?
How do I pay parking and traffic tickets?
What do I do if I’m involved in an auto accident?
What is the law regarding seat belts?
What is the law regarding child seats?

What is the curfew in Howell?
Where do I go to apply for a Personal Protection Order (PPO)?

Can I make an anonymous tip about drugs?
Will the police department check my house while I’m out of town?
I locked my keys in my car – Can you help?
How do I pick up property?
Am I a victim of identity theft?
What is community policing?
Can I turn in my gun registrtion or CPL to the Howell Police Department?
Can I do a background check?
What is the Zip – Zero – Zilch Law?




Is the City of Howell Police Department my Police Department?
The City of Howell Police Department can only provide service for incidents that occur within the Howell City limits. If the incident occurred in one of the townships that surround the City, your local jurisdiction will be the Livingston County Sheriff's Department and/or the Michigan State Police. Just because you have a "Howell" mailing address does not mean that you live in the City of Howell. In all cases, just dial 9-1-1 to request a police response.

Back To Question List

When should I call 9-1-1?
Call 9-1-1 for all emergencies and to report crimes that are in progress. Also call 9-1-1 for all medical issues, and all vehicular accidents in the roadway. For NON-emergencies, or to report crimes that are NOT in progress, call the non-emergency dispatch number: (517) 546-9111. 

Back To Question List

How do I request a Police Officer?
If you require a police response for a non-emergency, please dial (517) 546-9111. For general questions you may call the Howell Police business line at (517) 546-1330 between 8:00am and 5:00pm, Monday-Friday. After hours, there is a call box in the lobby of City Hall. This will connect you to Central Dispatch and they will dispatch an officer back to the Police Department to speak with you.

Back To Question List

How do I get to the Police Department?
Howell Police Dept./City Hall is located at 611 E. Grand River, four blocks east of Michigan Ave. on the south side of the street.

From I-96: Exit 137, north on Michigan Ave. east on Grand River Ave, on the south side of Grand River Ave.

From M-59 (Highland Road): South on Michigan Ave., east on Grand River Ave, on the south side of Grand River Ave.

Map

Back To Question List

How do I obtain a copy of a police report?
You may request a copy of a police report by calling our business office (517) 546-1330 or coming into the office during normal business hours. You will be asked to fill out a Freedom of Information Act request form.

For copies of traffic crash reports, you may obtain them online at www.docview.us.com. There is a small fee to obtain these reports. Most reports are ready within 72 hours of the incident.

Back To Question List

How do I pay parking and traffic tickets?
Parking tickets may be paid at the Police Department, located on the first floor of City Hall at 611 E. Grand River, between the hours of 8:00am -5:00pm, Monday-Friday. A drop box is also located in the lobby of City Hall for after-hours payments. Some fines will increase after 48 hours, so prompt payment is important! Parking tickets that go unpaid will be sent to the 53rd District Court for further action.

Traffic citations and appearance tickets are paid at the 53rd District Court, at 204 S. Highlander Way, Howell, MI 48843. You can reach the court by phone at (517) 548-1000 for information on the amount of fines or to request a court date.

Back To Question List

Where do I go to apply for a Personal Protection Order (PPO)?
You may obtain the necessary paperwork at the 44th Circuit Court Clerk at 204 S. Highlander Way, Howell, MI 48843, or telephone them at (517) 546-9616.

Back To Question List

What is the curfew in Howell?
City ordinance states that minors under the age of 16 years shall not loiter, idle or congregate in or on any public street, highway, alley or park located within the City limits between the hours of 10:00pm and 6:00am, unless accompanied by a parent or an adult designated by the parent.

Back To Question List

What do I do if I’m involved in an auto accident?
Michigan Vehicle Code requires in section 257.622: “The driver of a motor vehicle involved in an accident that injures or kills any person, or that damages property to an apparent extent totaling $1,000.00 or more, shall immediately report that accident at the nearest or most convenient police station, or to the nearest or most convenient police officer.” You may dial 9-1-1 for a police response to the scene of the accident.

Back To Question List

What is the Zip – Zero – Zilch Law?
In 1996 the state legislature passed a law which provided a zero tolerance of under-aged drinking and driving (under age 21). Be safe and don’t drink and drive.

If you’re tested for alcohol and it shows a positive result, penalties may include:
Loss of your drivers license for 30-90 days
A fine of up to $250, and/or
Performance of up to 45 days of community service
Four points added to your driving record
Payment of up to $2,000 in attorney fees
Insurance premium increase

Back To Question List

What is the law regarding seat belts?
The Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning and the U.S. Department of Transportation say, “Safety belts save lives!” They cite the following statistics:
On average, nearly four Michigan motorists are killed every day in traffic crashes, and 400 more are injured.
In Michigan, a traffic crash is reported once every one minute, 26 seconds.
Crashes cost Michigan citizens more than $3 billion per year!
Approximately 54% of all crashes occur in urban areas, but 63% of all traffic deaths occur in rural areas.
In Michigan, it is estimated that more than $750 million is spent each year on medical costs due to the non-use of safety belts.
Nearly $1.5 billion of income is lost each year in Michigan due to the non-use of safety belts.

Safety Belt / Child Restraint Law:
Occupant Age Restraint
Birth - 3 years of age: Child must be in child restraint system*
4 - 15 years of age: Belts required in all seating positions within the vehicle*
16+ years of age: Belts required in front seat only**

* Driver receives a citation for violations
** Each violator receives a citation

Back To Question List

Can I make an anonymous tip about drugs?
Yes. Dial (810) 227-7897 and your message will be relayed to the appropriate agency to follow up on your tip.

Back To Question List

Will the police department check my house while I’m out of town?
Yes. The Howell Police Department will periodically check your property while you’re on vacation. Please contact the business office at (517) 546-1330 between the hours of 8:00 AM and 5:00 PM with your name, address, departure and return dates along with an emergency contact while you’re out of town.

Back To Question List

I locked my keys in my car – Can you help?
Yes, just dial the non-emergency dispatch number (517) 546-9111 and they will dispatch an officer to unlock your vehicle for no charge, provided it is within the city limits. While it does not happen often, there is a possibility of incuring some damage during the unlock process. You will be asked to sign a waiver of liability form for any damage before an officer may attempt to unlock your vehicle.

Back To Question List

What is community policing?
Community policing is, in essence, a collaboration between the police and the public that mutually identifies issues and works together to solve community concerns. With this partnership, all members of the community become allies and active participants in the effort to enhance the safety and the quality of life in and around our community and our neighborhoods.

The Howell Police Department has embraced the operational philosophy of Community Oriented Policing. Foot patrols, bicycle patrols and initial programs to develop this philosophy and to foster community partnerships have already been put in place. The Howell Police Department is currently seeking to organize neighborhood and business associations to further expand the Community Oriented Policing concept.

If you are interested or would like further information, please contact either Chief George Basar or Deputy Chief Scott Mannor at (517) 546-1330.

Back To Question List

How do I pick up property?
If you need to pick up some property, please call the Police Department business office at (517) 546-1330, extension "0" to schedule a date and time to pick up your item(s).

Back To Question List

Am I a victim of identity theft?
If someone has used your credit/debit card numbers, or opened an account in your name, then you are likely a victim.
Your first step is to call the non-emergency dispatch number (517) 546-9111 to ask for a Police Officer to respond and take a report.
*  Contact your bank and let them know the circumstances.
*  Contact the three credit reporting agencies and sk for a "fraud alert" which will prevent any additional new credit accounts from being opened.
*  You should also be pro-active and check the three credit reporting agencies once each year:
     *  Experian (www.experian.com)
     *  Equifax (www.equifax.com)
     *  TransUnion (www.transunion.com)

Back To Question List

Can I turn in my gun registration or CPL to the Howell Police Department?
Turn in your pistol purchase permits to the Livingston County Sheriff's Department, located at 150 S. Highlander Way in Howell. For a Concealed Pistol License (CPL), you can pick up a packet from the Sheriff's Department. If you've already filled out a CPL packet, you can drop it off or mail it to the Livingston County Clerk's office, 200 E. Grand River Avenue, Howell, MI 48843.

Back To Question List

Can I do a background check?
To look up criminal records, you can visit ICHAT (Internet Criminal History Access Tool) at https://apps.michigan.gov/ICHAT/Home.aspx. This site allows the search of public records for felonies and serious misdemeanors tht are punishable by over 93 days. Suppressed records and warrant information are NOT available through ICHAT. Also, records from other states require that you conduct the appropriate search in thtose individual states. for an ICHAT search, you'll need the full name and date of birth. A fee of $10 is charged for each search.

Back To Question List